Wright & Round
Music Publishers

Broadbent, D


Derek Broadbent commenced playing the cornet at the age of nine with the Thornton Cleveleys Silver Band. Following a career in H.M. forces as a musician spanning some eight years, during which he studied at the Royal Military School of Music, Kneller Hall, with the late Jack Mackintosh, he returned to civillian life as a professional arranger and musical director.
    He later became the conductor of the Slaithwaite Band and achieved much success in contests and brought them back into the Championship section. Derek then became the resident conductor of the world famous Brighouse & Rastrick Band; a position he held for ten years. During this time he conducted them into 2nd place in the British Open Championships; Premier place in the National Championships in 1980 and 2nd place the following year. He was also responsible for their ‘chart-topping’ success of The Floral Dance.
    For three years he was the resident conductor of the equally famous Black Dyke Mills Band and was very much a part of their 1985–1986 Grand Slam, the period when they held every major title. He returned to Brighouse & Rastrick in 1987 for a period of three years as their musical director. Since 1990 Derek has been totally free-lance as a conductor and has taken the opportunity to direct many of the U.K.'s finest bands.
    As an Associate Professional conductor with the Williams Fairey Band in the ’90’s he was once again part of another grand slam. His adjudicating engagements have been many and include the British Open, the National Championships, the English Nationals, numerous Grand Shields and Regionals, regular appearances at Pontins and countless other contests throughout the U.K.
     His arrangements and compositions are highly popular in the band world and appear with great regularity in concert programs. He was music editor for Wright and Round from 1989 to 2005. In 1988 Derek was awarded the Iles Medal of Honour for his services to brass bands, and was the Chairman of the Association of Brass Band Adjudicators until 2010, a position he held with great respect.
    Email: broadbentmusic@aol.com
    Address: 17 Corrance Road, Wyke, Bradford, West Yorkshire, BD12 9LH
    Telephone: 01274 670459

Cat No. Title Composer Price
W0027 The Bartered Bride £50.00 Details
W0027/S The Bartered Bride (score) £25.00 Details
W0205 On the Inside £33.00 Details
W0205/S On the Inside (score) £17.50 Details
W0205/PA On the Inside (piano) £9.50 Details
W0253 Granada (cornet feature) £33.00 Details
W0253/S Granada (cornet feature) (score) £17.50 Details
W0407 Moonlight Sonata £33.00 Details
W0407/S Moonlight Sonata (score) £17.50 Details
W0410 Blockbusters! £33.00 Details
W0410/S Blockbusters! (score) £17.50 Details
W0411 Lord of the Dance £33.00 Details
W0411/S Lord of the Dance (score) £17.50 Details
W0414 Sonata Pathetique £33.00 Details
W0414/S Sonata Pathetique (score) £17.50 Details
W0431 The Darling Buds of May £33.00 Details
W0431/S The Darling Buds of May (score) £17.50 Details
W2003 Robin Hood Prince of Thieves £33.00 Details
W2003/S Robin Hood Prince of Thieves (score) £17.50 Details
W2005 Midwest £26.50 Details
W2005/S Midwest (score) £13.00 Details
W2006 Shield of Liberty £26.50 Details
W2006/S Shield of Liberty (score) £13.00 Details
W2010/PA Eight Easy Slow Melodies £11.00 Details
W2011 In the Bleak Mid Winter £26.50 Details
W2011/S In the Bleak Mid Winter (score) £13.00 Details
W2012 It Came Upon a Midnight Clear £26.50 Details
W2012/S It Came Upon a Midnight Clear (score) £13.00 Details
W2013 O Come All Ye Faithful £26.50 Details
W2013/S O Come All Ye Faithful (score) £13.00 Details
W2014 Rocking Carol £26.50 Details
W2014/S Rocking Carol (score) £13.00 Details
W2015 Silent Night £26.50 Details
W2015/S Silent Night (score) £13.00 Details
W2016 Away in a Manger £26.50 Details
W2016/S Away in a Manger (score) £13.00 Details
W2017 O Little Town of Bethlehem £26.50 Details
W2017/S O Little Town of Bethlehem (score) £13.00 Details
W6001 Sabre Dance £33.00 Details
W6001/S Sabre Dance (score) £17.50 Details
W6103 Bluebells of Scotland £40.00 Details
W6103/S Bluebells of Scotland (score) £20.00 Details
W6112 Quality Plus £26.50 Details
W6112/S Quality Plus (score) £13.00 Details
W6118 The Lonely Ballerina £33.00 Details
W6118/S The Lonely Ballerina (score) £20.00 Details
W6119 Stop the Cavalry £33.00 Details
W6119/S Stop the Cavalry (score) £17.50 Details
Found: 57 items
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Back Next